AANPCP Commissioner Elections

November 2013 - Elections for Family Nurse Practitioner Commissioner and Gerontology Nurse Practitioner Commissioner were held October 2013. We are pleased to announce that Dr. Mona M. Counts, PhD, CRNP, FNAP, FAANP, FAAN and Dr. Lori Martin-Plank, PhD, MSN, MS, GNP-BC, NP-C, FNP-BC, FAANP have been elected to serve as Commissioners for a 3 year period effective January 1st, 2014. We welcome both to the commission and are grateful for their willingness to contribute to our program as well as the profession.

Dr. Counts and Dr. Martin-Plank join Dr. Lorna Schumann, PhD, NP-C, ACNS-BC, ACNP-BC, CCRN (Chair), Dr. Greg Holm, PhD, NP-C, FAANP (Secretary), Dr. Mary Ellen Roberts, DNP, APN-C, FAANP (Treasurer), Marianne Hurley, MS, FNP, GNP (Member at Large), Dr. Kathy Wheeler, PhD, FNP-BC, FAANP (Member at Large), and Barbara Safriet, JD, LLM (Public Member) for 2014.

All of us at the AANPCP would like to express our gratitude to outgoing commissioners Margaret “Marge“ Dean, CS-BC, GNP-C, MSN, FAANP (Vice Chair) and Wendy Thon, MS, FNP, NP-C, FAANP (Member at Large) for their years of dedication and service to the Certification Program. They will both continue to provide invaluable consultation to the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners National Certification Program (AANPCP).