2021 Commissioner Election Results In

The 2021 Commissioner elections were held October 11th - 24th, 2020. AANPCB is pleased to announce that Robin Arends, CNP, DNP, FNP-BC, CNE, FAANP, Karen S. Moore, APRN, DNP, ANP-BC, FNP, FAANP, FAAN, and Kerri L. Rupe, ARNP, DNP, FNP-C, COHN-S, FAANP were elected to serve on the certification board beginning January 1, 2021. Dr. Arends and Dr. Rupe will represent Family Nurse Practitioners. Dr. Moore will represent Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioners. The term of office is three years.

Karen S. Moore is an Associate Professor and Coordinator of the Adult-Gerontology Primary Care NP program at Saint Louis University and practices as a nurse practitioner at BJC HealthCare in St. Louis, MO. She is chair of the International Council of Nurses Nurse Practitioner/Advanced Practice Nurse Network Student Subgroup, immediate past chair of the National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculty Global Health/International Special Interest Group, a Fellow of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners, Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing (AAN), and an engaged member of the AAN Global Health, Infectious Disease and Cultural Competence and Health Equity Expert Panels. Her clinical practice has encompassed acute medicine, oncology, infectious disease, global health, primary care in medically underserved communities, occupational and environmental health. co-authored an advanced practice nursing textbook, conducted research on Zika, HIV pre-exposure prophylaxis, and COVID-19, and disseminated her findings through peer-reviewed publications, national and international conferences.

Kerri L. Rupe is Clinical Professor of the Doctoral Program at the University of Iowa, College of Nursing. She is the sole owner and practitioner of a Locum Tenens HCP business providing primary care and occupational health care services to clinics throughout Iowa. Since 2011, she has been active with the AANP Certification Program/Board (AANPCB), including FNP item writing, FNP Item Rubric and Bank Maintenance Committee, Testing Review Committee, and item validation for NP certification exams. She was a Board Commissioner for the AANPCB from 2016-2019 serving on the Nomination Committee and as Secretary.

Joyce M. Knestrick has been involved with the AANP Certification Board for over 15 years. Currently serving as a Commissioner, she has also been an item writer numerous times, and has been involved in test construction, and practice analyses for the purpose of credentialing the FNP certification exam. She practices in a clinic in rural Appalachia where she serves low-income and Medicaid patients. She also is a Visiting Professor at George Washington University. Highly dedicated to the NP profession, she is immediate past-President of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners and has been highly involved in education and leadership activities of NONPF.

Robin Arends is currently employed as a Clinical Associate Professor at South Dakota State University where she teaches FNP students at the Master's and Doctoral level and serves as the APRN Curriculum Coordinator and APRN Specialty Coordinator. In her clinical practice, Dr. Arends provides comprehensive acute and chronic care through telehealth modalities to long-term care residents. Her passion for nurse practitioner-delivered healthcare utilizing telehealth led her to receive a $1.2 million grant to educate students and clinicians on telehealth from the Health Resources & Services Administration (HRSA). In addition, she has served as the SDSU Graduate APRN Coordinator on a $3.75 million grant from HRSA in the area of geriatrics and a $546,971 grant from SAMHSA in the area of SBIRT. She is a national and international speaker in the areas of research, education, policy, and practice. Dr. Arends has served as an item writer and item reviewer for AANPCB and is currently serving on the FNP Practice Analysis Taskforce.

The Board of Commissioners would like to express gratitude to the following Commissioners for their years of service. Dr. Mary Ellen Roberts, DNP, RN, ANP-C, FNAP, FAANP, FAAN, current Commission Chair, past Vice-Chair, Treasurer, and Committee member; Dr. Kathy Wheeler, PhD, NP-C, FAANP, FNAP, current Member-at-Large, past Secretary, and Committee member; and Dr. Joyce Marth Knestrick, PhD, C-FNP, FAANP, FAAN, current Member-at-Large. Their willingness to serve greatly contributed to the certification programs and NP profession. Terms will expire on December 31st, 2020.

Certificants who cast their ballot during this election were entered to win a voucher for the waiver of their next recertification fee. A random drawing of two names was done following the close of the election process. Thank you to all who participated in this election process.

AANPCB Commissioner information is available at https://www.aanpcert.org/about/comm.